how to buy a kindle book as a gift by Megan Schaulis

How to Buy a Kindle Book as a Gift

While my family is made up of voracious readers, none of us buy physical books anymore. For years, this had a major impact on my ability to think of stocking stuffers and birthday gifts. Luckily, I recently discovered you can give e-books as presents! Read these three simple steps to learn how to buy a Kindle book as a gift.

1. Choose a book to give.

Honestly, this is the hardest part of the whole process. When you give a book, especially a book you love, it can lead to anxious wonderings about whether the recipient liked the book, loved the book, or whether you have to stop being friends because they hated the best thing you ever read. (Disclaimer: I’ve never actually ended a friendship due to bad taste in books.)

To help you out, here are a few books that will delight any fan of their genres:

The Key to Love by Betsy St. Amant — a charming inspirational romance featuring a girl who’s in love with love and a handsome but cynical travel writer

Romanov by Nadine Brandes — a young adult historical fantasy that masterfully blends an accurate account of the ill-fated Russian royals with delightful magic

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder by Joanne Fluke — the first in a great series of cozy mysteries featuring a cookie baker turned amateur sleuth (includes recipes!)

Sanctuary 87 by Patrick Skelton — an intricate mix of Sci-Fi, dystopian adventure, and political thriller that doesn’t rely on horror or paranormal plotlines

Matched by Ally Condie — first in a YA trilogy taking place in my favorite utopia-gone-wrong to date (great for fans of Divergent or The Hunger Games)

2. Click “Buy for others.”

Find your book of choice on Amazon. Make sure you’ve selected the Kindle version of the book. When you do, a new purchasing option called “Buy for others” will appear under the normal purchase options.

how to buy a kindle book as a gift by Megan Schaulis. Amazon buy for others.

3. Complete delivery details.

Once you click “Buy for others” a new screen will open where you can personalize the details of the delivery. Enter the email of the lucky book recipient, your name, and a message. Here’s the best part: You can choose the delivery date! You can set it to Christmas or a birthday or any day in the next year. It will arrive in the recipient’s inbox much like an electronic gift card.

I also noticed that the recipient can exchange the e-book for an Amazon gift card. So, you’re covered if you totally misjudged their reading preferences.

how to buy a kindle book as a gift by Megan Schaulis. Amazon.

And that’s it. It’s ridiculously simple. Of course, you want to be sure your e-book recipient reads on an Amazon Kindle or this won’t work. Knowing how to buy a Kindle book as a gift, my Christmas shopping will be a breeze!

Leave a Reply